Meet The Staff!!

We are a group of young and brilliant writers from Oregon! We all attend Oregon Virtual Academy and are dedicated to bringing you along our journey! Want to meet the staff? Read on.


The Co-Chief Editors

Stephany S.

Hey there everybody! My name’s Stephany (though Steph is preferred :3). I am currently fifteen years old (as of making this… I’ll be sixteen in just a bit XD) and I am a sophomore. This is my second year with but my 11th year with k12 overall, having spent nine years at IDVA before. I’m just your average over-excitable and talkative person— I am a rather crafty person – ranging from just your drawing, to crocheting, knitting, and baking. I’m also quite a writer (I will rant for hours on end about the characters and stories I have, please approach with caution) and am super stoked that I get to have an opportunity to be on the journalism crew with everyone here! ❤


Contributors

Amaya B.

My name is Amaya B. I am a 16-year-old junior attending ORVA. My family and I have moved around to various states, but I have been enrolled in a K12 program since the third grade. I have two cats named Daisy and Tom. I love writing, card making, and American history.  I have a passion for politics, and I am very patriotic. I model my life after Alex P. Keaton. After I finish high school, I intend to be a political science major in college. I am looking forward to writing for the blog this year and I can already tell this will be one of my favorite classes.

Tori P.

I am an eighth year student at ORVA and a sophomore. My favorite subjects are chemistry and math and I plan on pursuing a career in the medical field, I love spending time outdoors with my friends and family but also love staying home with a good book. I’m an avid football fan but usually enjoy any sport as long as it’s fun and friendly. I’m quite the bookworm so I would have to say reading is one of my favorite activities, I enjoy all genres of literature but usually prefer non- fiction and technical pieces. I can’t wait to read another year’s worth of amazing articles!

Levi G.

Hi! My name is Levi, I’m 16, a junior in high school, and this is my 8th year with ORVA! I’m a drummer, a game master for tabletop RPG’s, a photographer, skater, video gamer, and I absolutely love to write! I write whole lots of fiction from short stories to long projects, though I also enjoy some corners of non-fiction too! Writing is an escape, whether it’s within a memoir, a fantasy piece, or a work of poetry, I’m happy to write anything I can; And I do consider myself a poet too. This year I look forward to writing for the K12 blog and the school yearbook as it can provide awesome opportunities for me and my classmates. Let’s make this a good one!

Zachary C.

Hello! My name is Zach, and I am 16 years old. This is my first year at ORVA, but I did attend AZVA for 2 years. I’m not a very social person, but I do enjoy meeting new people. I am a huge geek, and I like anime, video games, comics, and music. My all-time favorite manga/anime would have to be JoJo’s Bizzare Adventure


The Adviser – Mrs. Lower

Born in New Delhi, India, Mrs. Lower moved to the states when she was five years old.  This is her 6th year at ORVA and last year she ran for the Oregon State Legislator but lost by only 1800 votes. It was a great experience and she met a lot of wonderful people and learned so many great things about the state of Oregon.  Teaching is her 2nd career; she worked for the Washington State Department of Transportation working with state and federal legislation.  She has a daughter and two sons, who are all grown up and living on their own in Washington State. She also has three grandsons.  Mrs. Lower lives with her husband and dog, Olaf in Seaside.


bartholomew

*In British accent* ‘Ello there. My title is Bartholomew the Monarch Butterfly, but I would prefer if you would be so kind and call me Bartholomew. At 4:00 each day I enjoy a little bit of tea. Earl Grey Tea is my favorite. I love to play croquet and every once in a while I enjoy crumpets with the Queen of England (we are very good friends). I do not do much, except migrating when I have to and travel around every once in a while. In what spare time I have, I like to read Shakespeare and visit the Opera. Until later, I bid thee farewell. Contact me here.

ATTENTION:  ORVA  STAFF  AND  STUDENTS!!

Are you interested in becoming a Monarch Writer or a Special Guest Contributor?? Email us a sample and tell us what you want to write about!

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: